Dresden: A 2-Hour Gem

Tuesday, April 10th 2012

So now that I had begun my foray into the world of beer drinking and lost my camera, we could move on. As we left Berlin, heading south for Dresden, I was glad we made a quick visit to the Soviet War Memorial at Treptower Park. It gave me a sense of everyday life here as I watched joggers, walkers and bicyclists circle the park in routine fashion.

Unfortunately, we only had about two hours to roam once we got to Dresden. Between the camera around my neck and me staring upward as I walked through the small town, there was no way to hide that I was a tourist. The first thing I noticed was how much more visually appealing it was here than in Berlin. The architecture, the painting and general decor of the buildings was worthy of long stares and I was quite taken with the polished gold accents everywhere. The gold was so clean it was as if someone polished them everyday and the buildings were tall, with dark bricks from the original structures and lighter bricks from being restored. I noticed that there were alot of horse drawn carriages in this part of the world, and here coupled with the picturesque surroundings, you could almost truly feel like you’re in a storybook of some fantastic kind.

We stopped at  little café and grabbed baguettes to go (two thumbs up on the tasty scale) and it took alot of will power not to order every dessert in the display case (especially after sampling a few). After wandering around a little more, I had company to venture up to the top of the Frauenkirche dome. Of course I had to climb something while I was here! The interior was nothing short of what I expected – absolutely beautiful – but I’ll just let the pictures speak for themselves:

Danke Dresden. Danke Berlin. Danke Germany. Es war großartig  :p

Up next, the Czech Republic… bring on the meat and potatoes!

Leave a Reply

