MmmMuscle Memory

I started Taekwon Do when I was 8 years old. Scheduled training was Monday, Wednesday and Friday (though I usually took Friday off) and I was at the gym on the Tuesday, Thursday off days to do weights and cardio with the guys. Many weekends were likely spent in Kingston for extra training sessions at the school on Lady Musgrave Road or at one of many tournaments at UTECH or UWI. So alot of my free time pretty much revolved around my martial arts agenda and I couldn’t imagine it being any other way. I assumed it would be a part of my life all the time.

Then I moved to Pennsylvania (before I eventually wound up in NY) and started college.

I tried to keep up with it, but there were no ITF schools around so I could only train on my breaks when I went home, and once my family moved in 2004, that (regrettably) began to dwindle too. So gradually, something that was a huge part of my life for 14-years came to a complete halt.

Six long years later, circumstance allows for me to finally get back into a regimen of training which, I have to admit, was a little intimidating at first. And though I know I cannot ignore that I’m only able to train twice a week for an hour per class, it has been very slow to come back. This is definitely not as easy as it seemed before. But one day at a time, I’ve made my way up the belt ranks through the patterns (maybe known to you as a form or a ‘kata’) and finally made it to the black belt ones last week.

Funnily enough, those came back to me alot quicker than the ‘easier’ patterns did… which brings me to the point of this post – muscle memory is one of the best things ever. Since I started again in November, this past week has been my best yet, simply because my body has apparently fallen back in a long awaited groove and is remembering, all on it’s own, the moves that came naturally to me before. And even though I know I’m far from being 100% again, it really does give you a rush that propels the rest of your output forward and is a good bit for motivation.

Yay for muscle memory… =)

Leave a Reply

